Monday, December 30, 2019

Thursday, September 19, 2019

I’m very happy this morning.

It was looking for awhile like I was losing listeners. I have a target number that I like to reach, 100, and I had been below that for quite a few weeks. Being the pessimist that I am inclined to be, that was a little disheartening.

A few episodes ago, I had a whopping 254 total listens, 126 the week before that, 171 the week before that. Listeners were catching up.

In the last 90 days, I have had about a third of all my listens. It’s kinda amazing.

I hit 100 for the most recent show in a week, it usually takes two. The numbers keep creeping up on past shows.

Filk is not a huge community, I was hoping for 25-50 on the first show. 274 people have listened to it.

I had someone tell me the other day that they bought music because they heard it on the show. That is what I wanted. I wanted to support the community that has been so good to me.

Thank you for the support. Thank you to everyone who has commented, left a review on iTunes (you can do that ya’know) and otherwise kept me going through this.

Thank you to the amazing Lizzie Crowe for laughing at me while I record. No one else will ever hear the outtakes. Trust me, it gets grim (in a wildly silly way)

Two more episodes of Pegasus Awards songs, then a New To Me This Year show … then the First Anniversary show. I’m coming up on a year. I really didn’t know if it was going to last. I didn’t know if I would do more than the first show. Instead, this seems to be working. Thank you so much for listening.

Sunday, August 25, 2019

The 2019 Pegasus Awards Nominees!

It's time folks! The nominees are announced!

Best Filk Song
 I Am I - Eva Van Daele-Hunt
Lucy on the Line - Tim Griffin
Nine hundred and ninety nine - Mich Sampson /Marilisa Valtazanou
Vor - Bill Sutton
Water - Cathy McManamon

Best Classic Filk Song
Arden - Zander Nyrond / Chris O'Shea The Dark Man - Paul Kwinn
Regrets - Andrew Eigel
Ship of Stone - Don Simpson
Storm Dancing - Tom Smith

Best Performer

The Blibbering Humdingers
The Faithful Sidekicks
Tim Griffin
Sunnie Larsen
Playing Rapunzel

Best Writer/Composer
Lauren Cox
W. Randy Hoffman
Andrew Ross
Eva Van Daele-Hunt
Batya Wittenberg

Best Sing-Along Song
Don't Push That Button - Duane Elms
Gone Filkin' - Tom Jeffers
I Had A Shoggoth - Tom Smith
Somebody Will - Ada Palmer
Teenage Popsicle Girl - Bill Roper

Best Family Song
Give My Children Wings - Kathy Mar
Golden Rule - Sabine Kinder
Mommy, Can I Have A Spaceship? - Joey Shoji
My Thousand Closest Friends - Naomi Pardue
Welcome Home- Mark Bernstein

Congratulations to all the Finalists!

Samples of the 2019 Pegasus Finalists can be heard at

The Final Ballot is at, and balloting is open until Monday, October 21, 2019.

Starting on the show on September 11, we will be playing as many of the nominees as we can, starting with Sing-Along and Family Songs!

Wednesday, July 31, 2019

Another Go Fund Me

This came in too late to get on the show. Adam is a dear friend, and has written the companion story to Nighty Knights. He's had a run of terrible luck. Please help him out if you can!

If you are on Facebook, you can message Adam J. Whitlatch, and he'll sell you some books!

Check out his website for what he's written!

FilkCast Episode 20 July 31 2019

Monday, May 27, 2019

The 2019 Pegasus Awards!

The 2019 Brainstorming Poll Results are up, as is the Nomination ballot!

Monday, May 6, 2019

Patreon Pages!

A couple Filkers posted links to their Patreon pages on Facebook last week, and it got me thinking. Ya know, there are quite a few Filkers with Patreon pages. A couple are for writing projects, a couple of them are inactive, but you never know! This is what I have so far, I'll add more as I get them!

Adam Stemple

Alexander James Adams

Amy McNally

Ari Trahan

Betsy Tinney

Bradley W. Schenck

Cacophonie Tamayo

Canticles Productions (Alexander James Adams and Matthew Morrese)

Cathy McManamon

Deirdre Moira Murphy

Dr. Mary C. Crowell

Cheshire Moon

The Faithful Sidekicks

Gwen Knighton Raftery

Jen Midkiff

Kathy Warnecke

Krypton Radio

Leslie Hudson

Madison Metricula Roberts

Margaret and Kristoph

Ookla The Mok

Rhiannon’s Lark

Stephanie Weippert

Tom Smith

Via Bella

Zanda Myrande

FilkCast Episode 251, May 22, 2024